20 Nov

I have been in a church community all my life.  I have met a lot of people of faith during those many, many years.  Here’s what I have noticed; people who believe that God has really redeemed their lives from difficulties seem to have a deeper faith life.  In this psalm the writer speaks of being redeemed from the pit.

1-3 I waited and waited and waited for God. At last he looked; finally he listened. He lifted me out of the ditch, pulled me from deep mud. He stood me up on a solid rock to make sure I wouldn’t slip. He taught me how to sing the latest God-song, a praise-song to our God. More and more people are seeing this: they enter the mystery, abandoning themselves to God.”

When I felt like God had ‘stood me up on a solid rock’, I began to know how much I could trust God with everything in my life. It is remembering how God has given hope in life in the past that gives us courage in the present moment.  So, I think even when we are going through difficult times we can choose to see how God can be building a deeper faith in us.

“Blessed are you who give yourselves over to God,
turn your backs on the world’s “sure thing,”
ignore what the world worships;
The world’s a huge stockpile
of God-wonders and God-thoughts.
Nothing and no one
comes close to you!
I start talking about you, telling what I know,
and quickly run out of words.
Neither numbers nor words
account for you.”

OK, so I never actually run out of words, particularly when I am talking about God, but none of my words or anything can account or contain God.  The psalmist talks of our human desire to response to God, and God’s desire for our authentic worship.

“Doing something for you, bringing something to you—
that’s not what you’re after.
Being religious, acting pious—
that’s not what you’re asking for.
You’ve opened my ears
so I can listen.”

The writer tells us that the relationship that God wants is one where we listen.  But also, a relationship where we tell about what God is doing in our lives.  (note: I have not put in all the verses of the psalm)

“I’ve preached you to the whole congregation,
I’ve kept back nothing, God—you know that.
I didn’t keep the news of your ways
a secret, didn’t keep it to myself.
I told it all, how dependable you are, how thorough.
I didn’t hold back pieces of love and truth
For myself alone. I told it all,
let the congregation know the whole story.”

So, as you are listening to God, experiencing how God has given you life, remember to tell others.  Particularly, in this week where it is easy to talk about things we are thankful for, it should be easy to talk to others about God’s grace and love.  Peace.

Leave a Reply

