A Great Day

11 Oct

My day started with aqua zumba, which is my favorite.  When I was getting dress afterward I had a wonderful sense of being surrounded by love and blessings.  I put on the socks, given to me by a friend, filled my large Vera Bradley bag given to me by another friend, and felt my cross, given to me by a circle of friends.  I have some many wonderful blessings in my life.

Then I went to lunch with a clergywoman who is the Chairperson of the District Committee on Ordained Ministry.  She is very nice and I think she will actually get my name out there so I might get a same church to pastor.

Finally, this afternoon I got the great and glorious news that my first born child is gainfully employed.  Whow, what a day of blessings.  It is a great day to look at Psalm 27.  The psalmist begins,

“Light, space, zest—
that’s God!
So, with him on my side I’m fearless,
afraid of no one and nothing.”

The psalmist describes this wonderful feeling of joy in the presence of God.  It is a feeling of strength and peace and completeness that nothing needs to be feared.  It is from this seen of God’s presence that the psalmist continues:

“When besieged,
I’m calm as a baby.
When all hell breaks loose,
I’m collected and cool.

 I’m asking God for one thing,
only one thing:
To live with him in his house
my whole life long.
I’ll contemplate his beauty;
I’ll study at his feet.

 That’s the only quiet, secure place
in a noisy world,
The perfect getaway,
far from the buzz of traffic.”

I think this is the test of that sense of well-being in God; that when everything else in our lives is crazy, we can feel the calm center of God’s love.  I know when life was crazy with kids, and schedules, and deadlines, and sports, and school, and . . ; that it was spending quiet time with God, talking with God that gave me a peaceful place in a noisy world.  It is a gift of God’s grace that give us strength and direction in our days.

“Point me down your highway, God;
direct me along a well-lighted street;
show my enemies whose side you’re on.”

I pray you also ask God to point you down God’s highway.  Even when times are difficult God is there to listen.  And when times are great, God is there to rejoice with you.  I pray you are feeling that the path is well-lighted.  If not, it always helps to talk to a good friend and even pray with them.  I am thanking and praising God for all the friends in faith that I have who pray for me as I pray for them.

 

One Response to “A Great Day”

  1. Phyllis Terwilliger October 15, 2012 at 2:56 pm #

    Mary,

    I love your line, “God’s grace gives us strength and direction in our days.” and “a peaceful place in a noisy world” When I experience God’s peace it is like no other.

Leave a Reply

