Back again

10 Oct

We are up to Psalm 26.  This is the psalmist personal conversation with God.  We have seen other psalms like this, but I guess this one strikes me stronger because I have been reading through my old journals and they sound kinda like this psalm.

Examine me, God, from head to foot,
order your battery of tests.
Make sure I’m fit
inside and out

     So I never lose
sight of your love,
But keep in step with you,
never missing a beat.

In my life I have found, that a day goes better with God.  If I can take time in the morning to sit with God, read good stuff, write a little in my journal, then the rest of the day is more balanced and less stressful.  This was particularly helpful when my sons were young and I was running in a hundred different directions.  My morning time with God helped me to find joy in every day.  It still does.

I also like the imagine in this psalm about what this relationship with God does for us,

I scrub my hands with purest soap,
then join hands with the others in the great circle,
dancing around your altar, God,
Singing God-songs at the top of my lungs,
telling God-stories.

My friend’s son told her that the world would not hold hand and sing Kum Ba Ya like she wanted.  But this psalmist can imagine that reality.  Maybe even if it seems impossible that dreams would come true, we live like it is true and treat one another with that grace and love.

Blessings and peace,

One Response to “Back again”

  1. Phyllis October 11, 2012 at 2:25 am #

    Mary,

    I loved your line, “Maybe even if it seems impossible that dreams would come true, we live like it is true and treat one another with that grace and love.” AMEN!

Leave a Reply

