Worth another look

2 Oct

I have wondering about including Psalm 23 for weeks.  I knew it was coming right after 22, so I’ve been preparing.  Yet, I knew not only is this probably this best know psalm, it is usually remember in the King James Version.  It’s just kinda weird that this psalm that uses an image of a shepherd – a professional that I have never meet – and, it is usually recited in Elizabethan English – a language we haven’t used in a few centuries.  I don’t mind that this psalm has a very emotional and comforting effect on most folks, but I do hope you pause every once in a while and really think about what the psalmist is saying to us today.  So, for me it is helpful to read it in The Message, here it is.  .  .

1-3 God, my shepherd!
I don’t need a thing.
You have bedded me down in lush meadows,
you find me quiet pools to drink from.
True to your word,
you let me catch my breath
and send me in the right direction.

Even when the way goes through
Death Valley,
I’m not afraid
when you walk at my side.
Your trusty shepherd’s crook
makes me feel secure.

You serve me a six-course dinner
right in front of my enemies.
You revive my drooping head;
my cup brims with blessing.

Your beauty and love chase after me
every day of my life.
I’m back home in the house of God
for the rest of my life.

I like the part about letting me catch my breath and send me in the right direction.  It is amazing how this psalm translates so well into our lives and our understanding of God.  This ancient text sees God as one who care for us, journeys with us, and stands by everyday in every situation.  Know that as you read this psalmist description of God as shepherd it has brought comfort to thousand upon thousand of people.

So I hope you feel God’s beauty and love chasing after you every day of your life.  I hope you can take quiet time to revel in the refreshing presence of the eternal.

Leave a Reply

