Life in God

20 Sep

I am surprised that I really didn’t know how many wonderful psalms there are, particularly when you use Peterson paraphrase in The Message.  I am again going to put the whole psalm in the blog because it is not too long, and it sounds just like my life.

“Keep me safe, O God, I’ve run for dear life to you.  I say to God, ‘Be my Lord!’  Without you, nothing makes sense.  And these God-chosen lives all around – – what splendid friends they make!

Don’t just go shopping for a god.  Gods are not for sale.  I swear I’ll never treat god-names like brand-names.

My choice is you God, first and only.  And now I find I’m your choice!  You set me up with a house and yard.  And then you made me your heir!

The wise counsel God gives when I’m awake is confirmed by my sleeping heart.  Day and night I’ll stick with God; I’ve got a good thing going and I’m not letting go.

I’m happy from the inside out, and from the outside in.  I’m firmly formed.  You canceled my ticket to hell — that’s not my destination!

Now you’ve got my feel on the life path, all radiant from the shining of your face.  Ever since you took my hand, I’m on the right way.

 

I love the imagines of this psalm, I wonder if you feel like the psalmist when they are talking to God and saying, ‘without you, nothing makes sense’.  I know I feel that way.  Not that life becomes clear, but that looking at a situation through a God perspective gives and me understanding and usually a gentler heart towards myself and others.  And I love the idea of God-chosen lives around me.  I have always loved hanging out at church and finding people who are stumbling along their faith journey as I am.

When I looked at the next line and thought who would use a god-name as a brand-name, I thought about all the political craziness that is out there right now.  I am usually not offended by bumper stickers, but today I saw one that actually said, “Do blame me, I vote white”.   It was hard to believe that someone would produce a bumper sticker like that and someone would buy it.  The saddest part is that probably this guy also considers himself a ‘good Christian’.

But, for me, I am just trying to make God my first and only choice.  Rejoicing each day that I am happy from the inside out.  There is so much I am grateful for; God is the source and grounding of that rejoicing.  I pray you are finding God’s joy in this day, even in the midst of stupid bumper stickers.

Keep your feet on the life path and talk with God; letting God know how your day is going.

Leave a Reply

