9/11 and Psalm 12

11 Sep

This morning I went to my aqua zoomba class as usually and felt emotional blind sided by my instructors request that we take a moment to remember the events of 9/11.  The thing is, that she didn’t know how to phase what we were remembering.  She ended her somewhat incoherent sentence saying, “those who gave their lives for our freedom”.   For me there is always sadness when I think about that event and the families that were effected by the destruction in NYC, Washington D.C. and rural Pennsylvania.  Yet, I am also sad for the families who were effected in the Middle East because of our response to 9/11; families in Afghanistan, Iran, and Pakistan.   The American lives on that day eleven years ago were not given, but taken; removed from this earth in a heartbeat.  I can see no purpose in the destruction, but for those who imagined and plan it, it seems as through they want to fulfill their God’s wish of purging the earth of American’s impurity.

In these past years, I have heard a lot our God’s will and what God wants for our country and for other countries.   It almost seems like opposing sports teams that each pray God will help them to win the game.  I do not mean to make light of the destruction that has been carried out in the name of God, but I think until we can convince our leaders to be concerned with all of God’s creation – both the planet and the people – we will continue to endure endless suffering.

Psalm 12 says it this way:

“Quick God, I need your helping hand!  The last decent person just went down, all friends I depended on gone.

Everyone talks in lie language; lies slide off their oily lips.

They doubletalk with forked tongues.

Slice their lips off their faces!  Pull the braggart tongues from their mouths!

I’m tired of hearing, ‘We can talk anyone into anything!  Our lips mange the world!’

Into the hovels of the poor; into the dark streets where the homeless groan, God peaks: ‘I’ve had enough: I’m on my way to heal the ache in the heart of the wretched.”

I often feel as though what is spouted in the political rhetoric is a huge lie which is manipulating events for a profit.  A personal profit for someone and not for those who need it most; not even for our military that is sent by that same political rhetoric to secure and defend our country.

So, I’m with the psalm.  God get rid of the liars; help us to listen to your word of peace and work to heal your creation.

Leave a Reply

