God is always there for those in need

6 Sep

Psalm 9 is another song of praise, but longer.  The writer again praises God of the wonders God has done and that the enemies have stumbled and not prevailed.  There is also words of encouragment about what God does,

“God holds the high center, he sees and sets the world’s mess right.

He decides what is right for us earthlings, gives people their just deserts.

God’s a safe house for the battered, a sanctuary during bad times.

The moment you arrive, you relax; you’er never sorry you knocked.”

The psalmist reference to God’s care and concern for those who have been battered is a primodiant theme in the Bible.  It is the recurring image of God caring for the fatherless, the widow, the traveler, the disenfranchised, and was the basis of Gustavo Gutierrez’s liberation theology.  There has always been a part of the church that believes since God cares about the battered, we should too.

In these past days, I have been trying to find gainful employment.  The District Superintendent in this area has not called and I have looked in the paper and on lline for jobs.  Recently, I have even applied to work on line.  None of this has produced a simple part time job.  I am also feeling a little battered.  But I argree with the psalmist,

“Be kind to me, God; I’ve been kicked around long enough.  

Once you’ve pulled me back from the gates of death, I’ll  write the book on Hallelujahs; on the corner of Main and First I’ll hold a street meeting; I’ll be the song leader, we’ll fill the air with salvation songs.”

 

I like the idea of filling the air with salvation songs no matter what.  So, here to the blessings of a future with God.

 

note:  the picture is what I posted for my on line applicationImage

Leave a Reply

