Did you ever believe people were lying about you?

4 Sep

Then Psalm 7 is the passage to turn to.  The psalmist was accused that they, “betrayed my friends, ripped off my enemies -“.  The writer is calling on God to be judge. ‘Stand up, God; pit your holy fury against my furious enemies.  Wake up, God.  My accusers have packed the courtroom; it’s judgment time.  Take your place on the bench, reach for your gavel, throw out the false charges against me.  I’m ready, confident in your verdict; “Innocent.”  

This psalm remindes me of a wonderful passage in Brother Lawerence’s “Practiceing the Presence of God”.  Brother Lawerence is wrongly accused of some infraction in the monastery where he lives.  People are talking about him behind his back and he his talking to God about it.  He is standing at the sink doing dishes, watching the laundry he had hung earlier that day being whipped by the wind and he hears God speaking to his heart and saying, “just as those clothes are being ripped by the wind, so is your reputation, but trust in me and we will weather this storm together.”  Sure enough, trusting God saw Brother Lawerence through a difficulties.  He could join the writer at the end of this psalm saying, “I’m thanking God, who makes things right.  I’m singing the fame of heaven-high God.

I hope you also have the occassion to sign to the Heaven-high God.  Let me know how life is with you and if you find this new blogging worth reading.

3 Responses to “Did you ever believe people were lying about you?”

  1. Phyllis Terwilliger September 5, 2012 at 1:23 am #

    Mary,

    I’ve never been a fan of the Psalms, but I enjoy reading your interpretation and how to make it relevant in my life.

    Phyllis

  2. Gail Perdue September 5, 2012 at 1:40 am #

    Hi Mary,
    Yes, I enjoy your blog very much & look forward to see what you are thinking about. I hope you will keep it up! Thanks!

    Gail

  3. Darren Perdue September 5, 2012 at 1:55 am #

    I enjoy learning new things each day God grants me, whether it is life, religion or myself. Your blog helps me to meet this goal. Please continue.

Leave a Reply

