New every morning

2 Sep

I have loved Psalm 5 for a long time.  I sometimes sing it as song in morning – I learned the the tune during my charismatic days in the 70s – I’m not sure which translation it was.  Now, looking at The Message, it becomes new again. (It is what I like most about The Message).

“Listen, God!  Please, pay attention!  Can you make sense of these ramblings, my groans and cries?  King-God, I need your help.  Every morning you’ll hear me at it again.  Every morning I lay out the pieces of my lfe on your altar and watch for fire to descend.”

These are great words to start any day.  The psalm goes on to contrast those who listen to God and those who don’t.  Actually, this is a consistant them of the Psalms; those who are immersed in God and those who do not listen to God or actively working against God’s people.  If you were to think about those who seek God in the present moment and those who seek their own way, what would you say about the difference?  

Anyway, the psalm ends with a great line;, “You are famous, God, for welcoming God-seekers, for decking us out in delight.”

I hope today you are decked out in God’s delight.

Leave a Reply

