Be Content

13 Aug

Some of favorite scripture passages come from the fourth chapter of Philippians. I like these verses paraphrased by Eugene Peterson. “Actually, I don’t have a sense of needing anything personally. I’ve learned by now to be quite content whatever my circumstances. I’m just as happy with little as with much, with much as with little. I’ve found the recipe for being happy whether full or hungry, hands full or hands empty. Whatever I have, wherever I am, I can make it through anything in the One who makes me who I am.”

As I am getting ready for my first visit back to Vestal, I am reflecting on how different my life is here. I really have not had much to report about my journey, but I am content. On some days my parents have really needed my help and other days I they have not needed a lot. Day by day we see what comes.

And I hope you are content. There is a commercial from Embassy Suites. I think it says the word, “more” about 50 times in the 30 second segment. I think this is our culture, to quote a friend, “bigger, better, more. If the yard sales are any indication it seems as though we have too much of more. I know I have enough. It looks like much more than enough when I have to pack it up.

Mostly, I think it goes back to gratitude. To look at what we have, to know that we often have enough, to think about what we can share, I think these ideas can lead to a happier heart. I find a multitude of things to give thanks for everyday, even when I am just sitting quietly not doing a whole lot.

One Response to “Be Content”

  1. Phyllis Terwilliger August 15, 2012 at 6:21 pm #

    Mary,

    One of the “perks” of being a United Methodist clergy family is mobility. With mobility comes the sorting and packing and moving. I have always been grateful for a time to purge stuff and again be reminded that I have too much. You are so right in that it looks like much more than enough when you have to pack it up!

    Thanks for you insights,
    Phyllis

Leave a Reply

