Confessions

5 Aug

I didn’t go to church this morning.  And it is not just the Olympics that are keeping me at home. (although, do you think Murray will beat Federer for the gold?)  Actually I didn’t go to church last Sunday either.

So, here’s the deal.  Dad has not been feeling well enough to sit in church for an hour and it is always too much for Mom these days.  I went one week by myself, but the new guy drives me a little crazy.  I actually started reading the hymnal to make it through the sermon.  

So, I started wondering if I did this to other people?  It is an education to sit in the pews.  I appreciate even more those who can to church week after week and understand better those who didn’t.  My prayer for you and for me is meaningful worship and a supportive faith community.

p.s. the church is one that I visited in Wales.ImageImageImageImage

3 Responses to “Confessions”

  1. Phyllis Terwilliger August 5, 2012 at 4:10 pm #

    Mary,

    As always, thanks for your honesty and commitment to making church relevant and inspiring to those who dare to worship!

    Phyllis

  2. Gail Perdue August 5, 2012 at 4:45 pm #

    Hi Mary,
    I can honestly say that you never made your “sermons” boring! You always made me think and I appreciated that. Hope you have a good week. Take care.

    Gail

  3. Linda Rose October 2, 2012 at 3:41 am #

    Mary, your sermons were always like being in a deep conversation with a friend. Your preaching — and your blogging! — is so honest and open, and inviting, and always makes me feel closer to God…. Thank you for that!

Leave a Reply

