I am here

8 Jul

I have been working since I was 14 years old.  Working was a given in my house and usually the source of dinner conversation.  When I was twelve, my mom returned to nursing, so the stories weren’t always the greatest for eating a meal.   In my family working was where you showed your worth to the family.

It is interesting that in my theological reflections I have agreed with writers who understand our primary indentication is in our relationship with God and not from what we produce.  I have profoundly belived this, however this is the first time in 4 decades that I have not been working and been a student or a mom at the same time.

I feel like I am in a cocoon.  Moving from one kind of realtiy to another kind of realtiy and this is the inbetween world.  Taking care of my parents is a simple “lather, rise, repeat” kind of process.  I remind myself that I have only been not working for two weeks.   But without knowing what comes next in that part of my life I feel like I am somewhere inbetween  –  not able to see much, but trusting in God and enjoyng the moments of each day.

2 Responses to “I am here”

  1. Jessi July 9, 2012 at 2:59 am #

    I’m feeling you on the break from work being a mixed blessing, Mary. The free time can be overwheming at first (I’m on summer break), but you’ll get used to it!

  2. Phyllis Terwilliger July 9, 2012 at 11:29 am #

    Mary,

    Your comments hit home today as this is how I’ve lived the last 23 years of my life. It gets really interesting when folks ask, “So, what do you do?”. If it doesn’t involve stating a simple job title, I’m not sure they really want to know! I like the cocoon imagery; it is a place of being. For now, that’s a wonderful place to be.

    Phyllis

Leave a Reply

