Aqua Zumba is the funnist

5 Jul

My family moved to Fairfax when I was five years old.  I had leaned to swim at the Potomac River.  When we moved to Fairfax, my parents brought a membership at the pool that was at a nearby apartment complex.  What I apparaently didn’t understand at five years old is that a pool wasn’t like the river and I jumped in.  Now I am sure my parent had told me to put on a life jacket, but true to Mary for – I just jumped right in.  My parents said I scared them half to death!  I know during those early years I was pulled out of the pool a half a dozen times.

I love the water!  Our summer schedule as kids was get up by 9:30 (any later and Mom would get surley).  Do chores until noon, then Mom would give us lunch and send us four kids off to the pool (I think it was about a 10 minute walk from the house).  Then I would get to play all afternoon in the pool until my skin resemembled a prune.  

Do you remember playing in the pool –  Maco Polo, handstands, flips, seeing how long you could sit on the bottom of the shallow end – I loved every minute of it.

Aqua Zumba is the adult version of playing at the pool.  At the Y on Tuesday and Thursday mornings about 30 women are in the shallow end of the pool up to our armpits dancing to the music and having a great time.  Just let me tell you when you get out of the pool  45 minutes later your body lets you now you are not just having fun you are working some muscels that haven’t been called on for a while.

I pray for you to find “kid-quality” fun!  Enjoy every moment! 

One Response to “Aqua Zumba is the funnist”

  1. Phyllis Terwilliger July 6, 2012 at 3:16 pm #

    Mary,

    My favorite sense of childhood is that not knowing how much time passed or not paying attention to time during play. Those long summer days not having a schedule, just having fun. It sounds like you had fun at Aqua Zumba!

    Phyllis

Leave a Reply

