It’s not where you start, it’s where you finish!

4 Jul

This is my new mantra.  Yesterday I joined the YMCA in town.  It is ten minutes from my parents house and I thought it would be great to keep my joints moving.  Plus, it has  a great pool and I love to swim.  So, last night I went to “fitness swim” time and did enjoy swim in lanes back and forth.  However, I was amazed at how few times I could swim back and forth!  

As I stood in the shallow end, gasping for breath, I realized it had been 30 years since I swam laps in a sizable pool. That’s when in came to mind, “it’s not where you start, it’s where you finish.”

This morning I read through again all the wonderful cards that I recieved before I left Vestal and I smiled to myself.  The first three churches I left I think I got one  card, which has been long forgotten.  Now, in my bedroom are a stack of good-bye and birthday cards which I will always enjoy.  “It’s not where you start, it’s where you finish.”

So, on this day as we celebrate the signing for the Declaration of Independance, remember that the guys who signed it were just putting an idea out there.  This land was far from independant from Great Britian.  So from July 4, 1776 to September 3, 1783 those guys where fighting for something they imagined and put on a piece of paper.  

It’s not where you start, it’s where you finish.  Today, start with an idea; a God-filled idea that will make your life or someone else better: more full of hope, beauty, diversity, compassion, health.

Enjoy this independance day where we are free to enjoy all those things and give thanks.Image

 

 

2 Responses to “It’s not where you start, it’s where you finish!”

  1. Phyllis Terwilliger July 4, 2012 at 6:28 pm #

    Mary,

    I like the way you paint a picture of your days. Thank you! I took a swimming class in college and would always be late for my next class because I was soooo slow. At the end of the semester I had made the most progress from where I started, so your mantra is right on. I never really developed a knack for swimming but I did appreciate that I finished the class and didn’t drop it.

    • marysjourneyblog July 4, 2012 at 8:27 pm #

      Thanks Phyllis. This was the first blog I was really happy with.

Leave a Reply

