This is the day that the Lord has made, let us rejoice and be glad in it

1 Jul

A sweet couple I know wake each morning with one of them saying the first half of this phase and the other finishes the phase.  This verse was on my mind.  The first day of July, the first day of the week, the first Sunday in many, many years that I am not the pastor at a church.  

As I considered the verse I thought that it does not guarantee anything about the day, only that it has been created for us by One who loves us dearly.  And our response is to rejoice and be glad in it.  It is great to wake up with a heart of gratitude.  

Even if by nature you are not someone who would wake up in gratitude, you can cultivate it. When you lay down at night think of five things you can give thanks for and when you wake up do the same.  After a while, you will strenght or grow a gratiful heart.  It is up to you.

So, I am gratiful to be here and be able to help my parents, I am gratiful for food that I will share with them and my brother.  

I really am not as gratiful for the church service I went to today.  Not only was it not where I have been for the past 11 years.  The guy talked and talked and the service was an hour and 25 minutes.  What’s up with that!!  Get is said, get it done, get them on with their day!

OK, I feel better now.  Blessings and peace on your day.  Tell me what you think.  I always do.

4 Responses to “This is the day that the Lord has made, let us rejoice and be glad in it”

  1. Dan Clink July 1, 2012 at 7:37 pm #

    Hey Mary! Our service went a little long too, but no worries. It was definitely different with you not there, and the table for refreshments took up the entire width of the under balcony area. :~)

    The new Pastor got 4 thumbs up from the Clink family, even after she said to me, “Oh, the famous Dan Clink.”

    Hope all is well there, and look forward to reading your blog, and responding, lol!

  2. mike@audioclassics.com July 1, 2012 at 7:43 pm #

    Mary
    Some are just not as quick to get the point across huh?

  3. Lauri Capwell July 2, 2012 at 9:37 pm #

    Yes – church was long yesterday and John kept saying to me: “They’ll give you 1 hour”. LOL – see Mary, you’re still being quoted 🙂

    Look forward to reading more..

  4. Barb Sastra July 7, 2012 at 9:05 pm #

    You crack me up!

Leave a Reply

